TheAVAMovement turns 5

Discuss the latest AVA news and share your thoughts about anything AVA related

TheAVAMovement turns 5

by AirwavesRunner on Tue Sep 24, 2013, 11:05am

Five Years.

When I look back at all the posts I've made, it absolutely blows my mind that 5 years have passed since I joined this site. I was a high school sophomore just beginning to experience the world when I joined here in the wake of AVAEMPIRE's first collapse. Go back even further, I was in 7th grade when I joined Empire. Now, I graduate college in less than 9 months. Wow.

Time.
Flies.

As I've stated often, I believe it is the nature of the internet for sites to go through phases, and lull and roar from time to time. New members come in and old ones leave. Much like a fraternity, a website like this is a place someone comes and calls their home for a time, and when it is time to move forward, moves forward, keeping the memories in mind, never forgetting their time spent here. Each new group of members makes their home slightly different than those before, but the same creed and structure is passed on. AVAMovement will always be a home to me, even if I only post from time to time. I enjoy seeing new names finding a place to express their love for something, even if it's a band I rarely listen to anymore. I still go right back to the memories of when I first joined and what was going on in my life at the time when I look through my itunes.

1332 plays - The Adventure

1332 times I've relived that same memory.

As we enter our 6th year as a community, I want to thank everyone for their contributions to our home. Every meaningful post has added to someone's story, somewhere in the world. That's pretty cool to think about. One of the rally cries of this band has been that you can change the world. You might not be building schools in Africa, but somehow you've made an impression on someone by being here.